Vintage Synth Sell-Off


Argh! I hate to say this but I am thinking of selling off my Korg MS20 range of vintage synths to fund the business. Oh, my god, It’s worse than selling your baby sister into a life of…. well you’ve got the idea. I’ve got to admit that I haven’t played with the SQ10 sequencer for a while…although the well used MS20 gets…well, used.

OK, anyone not into vintage monophonic synths is probably going “uh?” But this is a complete rig – and even as a guitarist these babies have served me well. Let me explain:

I originally bought a Korg MS20 in 1978 – it was so funny picking it up from the music shop – all the staff gathered around as I opened it to see what it was! Poor old organ salesmen where going”jeez” and “wha” as we plugged it in and made some screeching cat howls out of it. It cost a months wages. But it was magic.

Why did I, a rock guitarist buy a synth? Well, I was fascinated with the idea of creating new sounds and sort of understood that guitar and synth could make perfect bedpartners. However of course we had a period (which may still exist, but I am too old to care) of guitarists being very, very anti synth – something that just never clicked with me, since the bands I loved featured a synth…Hawkwind spring to mind…ah, space rock. Anyway, as time went on I sold the old MS20 and regretted it…so I bought another, funnily enough at a time when analog was out of vogue  – so I got it for a song. I added a SQ10 sequencer and an MS10 synth too…then an MS04 modulation pedal..then a MIDI to CV converter so the whole rig could be run off a computer. WOW!

Take a look at this 🙂

So the rig I have now, based on current Ebay prices goes like this:

  • MS10 = £400
  • MS20= £700 (pristine ones raise over £1500)
  • SQ10=£520
  • MS04=£200
  • CVMD=£50

That’s a shitload of cash – so the question is… do I sell as a rig, or do I sell individually? I would rather sell it as a rig for someone to enjoy. But business is business my boy. If anyone wants this let me know – – but I sure know I’m going to regret it.

About Doctor Tweek

Doctor Tweek's Blog is written by Steve Kirkby, a recording engineer, educator living in Lincolnshire.
This entry was posted in Doctor Tweeks General Chat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment